Print Room – Silk Screen Printing

Silk Stencil Print

These prints have been produced using a silk screen, the idea behind the above image is to show the layers in the story and relate to the oilfields, the white areas would have text digitally applied. This print looks at a different aspect from the story, however, I think it feels slightly too happy and colourful for the story.

Silk Stencil Print

This is a silk screen produced by cut out type, my influence for this design is one of my favourite graphic designers, Saul Bass. The type is powerful and strong and I like the effect the ink has given the type, making it textured, build up, matte and shiny. I know that my work is a lot like Bass’ with the body image, but I feel his work it is appropriate for this style of story and would interest a range of audiences.

Leave a Reply

